Countries that do not require a visa to enter Japan

Japan Visa exemptions

There are 68 countries that do not require a visa to enter Japan. However, it should be noted that the visa exemption applies for visitors traveling for short-term stays to Japan. Passport holders of these visa exempt countries can stay in Japan for stays of up to 90 days.

As of July 2017, Japan took measures in regards to its Visa Exemption Agreements with 68 countries. Nationals of these 68 nations are not required to obtain visas to Japan if the purpose of their visit is tourism, commerce, conferences, visiting family or friends, etc. To engage in paid activities in Japan or to remain in Japan beyond the stipulated stay, visas will be required to enter the country.

There are many types of visas for Japan available for different purposes, including working and studying in the country. Long-term visas require that applicants present a series of documents and meet several requirements.

Japanese Visa exempt countries

To visit Japan for a short term visit, citizens of these countries can travel without a visa:

  • All European Union citizens
  • Australia
  • Argentina
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Lesotho
  • Liechtenstein
  • Macau
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Suriname
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United States
  • Uruguay

The period of stay granted at the time of arrival in Japan will be 15 days for Brunei, Indonesia, and Thailand, and 30 days for United Arab Emirates.
To travel to Japan it is necessary to have a machine readable passport (MRP) in compliance with ICAO standards or a ePassport that is also in compliance with ICAO standards.

visa exemptions for japan